Relic point Vietnam

Khanh Hoa

Lang Ba Vu

Ba Vu Mausoleum (also known as Nhu Mau Mausoleum) is located in group 9, Ninh Hiep ward, Ninh Hoa town, Khanh Hoa province. Mausoleum of Ba Vu is the burial place of the woman who helped Lord Nguyen Phuc Anh (later King Gia Long) overcome the hardship during the war with the Tay Son Dynasty. The project was directed by the king to be built according to the mausoleum architecture to repay gratitude, so the people call it a mausoleum. Going back in history, from 1775 onwards, Khanh Hoa was a land where disputes frequently occurred between the Tay Son army and the Nguyen Lord army. The book "Dai Nam Thuc Luc" of the National History Office of the Nguyen Dynasty records: Nguyen Anh led troops 5 times to attack Binh Khang district (present-day Khanh Hoa) and in all of those times, Nguyen Anh was defeated by the Tay Son army. scattered and chased everywhere, typically in the naval battle in the Hon Thi area (1784). When fighting with the Tay Son dynasty, Nguyen Anh failed many times and had to pull the remnants of his army to flee. One time when running to My Hiep village, the food was exhausted, he was sick, the soldiers were both hungry and exhausted. …the situation is extremely dangerous. In the dark of night, Nguyen Anh and his entourage knocked on a resident's door to ask for a bowl of rice to ease his stomach. The homeowner (legend is Mrs. Truong Thi Tiem) felt compassion and invited Nguyen Anh and his entourage to the house to rest. After that, she sent her maids to kill the pigs, cook rice for everyone, and provide extra food for the journey. As for Nguyen Anh, in addition to taking good care of his medicine, she also had someone milk the cow for him to drink to quickly restore his health. Thanks to that dedicated care and kind treatment, Nguyen Anh soon recovered, and the generals gradually recovered their health to continue pulling troops to the South. After Nguyen Anh unified the country, ascended the throne and took the title Gia Long (1802-1819). Remembering the help of people in the past, the king sent someone to My Hiep village to bring the old lady to the capital to take care of her. However, when the messenger arrived, the old woman had passed away. To show his gratitude, King Gia Long posthumously awarded her the title "Nhu Mau" (nanny). At the same time, the king ordered the Ministry of Public Works to send a number of skilled workers who were building the king's palace in the capital at that time to My Hiep to coordinate with local workers to build a mausoleum for the Nanny according to the mausoleum specifications of the King. Royal. The mausoleum was built in two years, from 1802 to 1804 and completed. The inauguration ceremony was held in a grand manner and was directly presided over by the provincial governor. Besides, because she had no descendants to burn incense and worship, the king also granted land to people in the area to cultivate without having to pay taxes to pay for her death anniversary (oral tradition is December 16). Every year, on the anniversary of her death, dignitaries and villagers gather to hold a very solemn death anniversary ceremony, complete with music and rituals like royal mausoleums. Since then, the incense burning and offerings at Ba Vu's mausoleum are still conducted by the Tuan Vu Khanh Hoa mandarin following the two-period Spring and Autumn custom. Today, the Relics Management Board along with the local government and people still organize the death anniversary of Ba Vu on December 16 every year. Lang Ba Vu is a cultural heritage ranked by the Ministry of Culture and Information (now the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism) as a National Historical - Cultural Monument on February 12, 1999. The relic not only has moral significance "When you drink water, remember its source" but also has great architectural and artistic value, reflecting the talent of artisans under the Nguyen Dynasty more than two centuries ago. Source: Khanh Hoa Province Monuments Conservation Center

Khanh Hoa 4619 view

Rating : National monument Open door

Temple of Binh Tay Great General

Trinh Phong Temple is located in hamlet 1, Phu An Nam 4 village, Dien An commune, Dien Khanh district, Khanh Hoa province. The temple was built in 1886. Trinh Phong was born in Phu Vinh village, Xuong Ha district, Vinh Xuong district (now Phu Vinh village, Vinh Thanh commune, Nha Trang city). When he was young, he was smart and studied well. In 1864, he passed the Bachelor of Martial Arts exam and was promoted to Admiral by the Nguyen court, taking office in Quang Nam. In 1858, the French colonialists opened fire at Da Nang estuary and then launched a war of aggression throughout our country. Not long after that, they captured the Six Provinces of Cochinchina and had the ambition to take over the land under the management of the Nguyen Dynasty. As the French colonialists' ambition to invade was increasingly revealed, meanwhile, the Nguyen court was divided into two factions: the warring faction and the peaceful faction; He resigned, returned to his homeland, steeled his will, and waited for the opportunity to expel the invaders. According to the 1884 Treaty, Khanh Hoa was a province within the management area of ​​the Nguyen Dynasty (in Central Vietnam). In 1885, King Ham Nghi ascended the throne, a young king with a passionate patriotism, supported by Ton That Thuyet - a general leading the militant faction at the court. In 1885, a counterattack in the Hue Citadel led by Ton That Thuyet opened fire before the French could attack. The counter-attack failed, Ton That Thuyet took King Ham Nghi to Quang Tri, prepared for a long-term resistance and issued the Can Vuong Edict calling on people across the country to stand up and help the king save the country. The Can Vuong Edict served as a unifying command for the patriotic movement in the localities. Across the country, people rose up to resist in many places, and the movement grew stronger and stronger. In Khanh Hoa, Trinh Phong and other prestigious personalities founded it. “Binh Tay saves the nation” with the slogan: “Little bandits eliminate criminals and pacify the nation; "Hung soldiers respond to the cause to serve the country", calling on people to join the insurgent army, contribute food, train soldiers, and forge weapons ready to fight against the invading French colonialists. Due to his superior intelligence and virtue, Trinh Phong was honored by the insurgent army and people as Binh Tay general, leading the insurgent army. The "Can Vuong" movement in Khanh Hoa led by Trinh Phong has been actively supported by people from all walks of life, especially in terms of food and mobilizing young people to join the insurgency. Although the Can Vuong movement in Khanh Hoa was extinguished, its heroic and indomitable fighting spirit left a particularly deep affection in the hearts of the people of Khanh Hoa. The people honored the three leaders of the movement. Can Vuong movement in Khanh Hoa were Trinh Phong, Tran Duong, Nguyen Khanh with the title "Three masterpieces of Khanh Hoa". Trinh Phong Temple was bestowed the title "Dai Duc Khoi Tinh" by the 13th King Thanh Thai (1901), then in the reign of the 9th King Khai Dinh (1924) he continued to bestow the title with the beautiful title: Duc Bao Trung. Hung Linh Pho Thuan Chinh. Recognizing the historical and cultural values ​​of the relic, in 1991 the Ministry of Culture and Information issued a decision to classify the Trinh Phong Temple relic as a National relic, on August 30, 1991. Source: Department of Culture and Sports of Khanh Hoa province

Khanh Hoa 3197 view

Rating : National monument Open door

Souvenir location for the C235 ship event

Monument of the C235 Ship Event Memorial Site (Ho Chi Minh Sea Road) in Ninh Van commune, Ninh Hoa town. During our people's great resistance war against America to save the country, to provide weapons and equipment for the southern revolution, along with the Ho Chi Minh Trail on land; In July 1959, according to the Politburo's Directive, the Central Military Commission decided to establish Group 759 to organize a sea transport route named "Ho Chi Minh Road at Sea". This is one of the extremely important and strategically significant tasks in the struggle to liberate the South. Especially preparing for the general offensive and uprising of the 1968 Tet Offensive, Navy Command Directed Group 125 to have ship C235 ready for duty. Ship C235 includes 21 officers and soldiers led by Lieutenant Nguyen Phan Vinh as Captain and Lieutenant Nguyen Tuong as Political Commissar. Ship C235 had 2 trips: The first trip departed at 6:30 p.m. on February 6, 1968, carrying 16 tons of weapons leaving the port at base A2 to Hon Heo wharf (Dam Van village - now Tay village, Ninh commune). Van, Ninh Hoa town). On February 10, while still 38 nautical miles from shore, the ship was followed by enemy warships and aircraft. At 12 o'clock on February 11, the Command Headquarters ordered the ship to return to port A3. In A3, the ship is camouflaged and ready to continue its mission. The second trip, Ship C235 left the wharf at 11:30 a.m. on February 27 from position A3. At 6:00 p.m. on February 29, when approaching the waters of Nha Trang, Ship C235 was detected by enemy reconnaissance aircraft. At 23:30, all the enemy ship's lights were turned off, they ambushed and tracked our ship with radar. The hunt for Ship C235, which the enemy later called the "ghost" ship, was very fierce. They fired heavily and then called in planes to drop flares and shoot rockets. The sailors continuously used DKZ 14 mm 5 guns to shoot towards the enemy ship. The fighting became more and more fierce. Finally, when the ship neared the shore, our troops jumped off the ship, swam to shore and blew up the ship to lose track of the ship. 14 officers and soldiers of ship C235 heroically sacrificed their lives. Ship C235 had 7 comrades left, all of them were seriously injured. The brothers tried to help each other move around the rocky mountain area of ​​Hon Heo to avoid enemy searches and find guerrillas. Eleven days of exposure to the sun, without food or water, the Chinese C235 soldiers were exhausted. On the 12th day, the officers and soldiers were able to contact the guerrillas at the wharf and at this time there were only 5 comrades left. After a period of treatment and recovery, they crossed the mountains, crossed the Truong Son mountain range and returned to the North to continue taking on new tasks. With typical historical and military values, the fighting and heroic sacrifice of the officers and soldiers of the C235 ship demonstrates beautiful and profound humanity, demonstrating the tradition of fighting to build and preserve the country. nation's country. On April 26, 2014, the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism ranked the Memorial Site of the C235 Ship Event (Ho Chi Minh Road at Sea) as a National Historical Site. Source: Department of Culture and Sports of Khanh Hoa province

Khanh Hoa 3181 view

Rating : National monument Open door

Ponagar Tower

The Ponagar Tower relic site is located on top of a marble hill close to the mouth of the Cai River in Vinh Phuoc ward, Nha Trang city (Khanh Hoa). This is one of the typical architectural complexes of Champa culture and has remained almost intact over time... The overall architecture of Ponagar Tower includes 3 levels, of which, the lowest level located at ground level is the gate tower. The second level has a wide area with 2 rows of 10 large columns, with 2 rows of 12 small columns on both sides. In the middle is an altar, where the singing and dancing activities of the ancient Cham people used to take place during every festival, holiday, and Tet. This is also a place called Mandapa, meaning a guest house, for pilgrims to rest, prepare offerings and prepare costumes before the official ceremony on the tower. The top level includes 4 towers: Main tower (also known as Ba palace, worshiping the goddess Ponagar, which in Cham means Mother of the Country), middle tower (Ong palace), east tower (Co palace), Northwest tower (Chu palace). Miss, Cau palace). Here, the most prominent is Ponagar Tower with four floors, symbolizing beauty, art and creativity, inside there is a 2.6 meter high statue of the goddess, carved of black marble, sitting on a pedestal. Majestic stone shaped like a lotus stem, the back rests on a large stone slab shaped like a Bodhi leaf. This is a masterpiece of Champa sculpture, a harmonious combination of round and embossed statue techniques. Other towers worship Shiva, Sanhaka and Ganeca. Ponagar Tower is a historical-cultural relic, a typical work of architectural art and sculpture of the Cham people in Vietnam. (The name Ponagar Tower is used to refer to this entire architectural work, but it is actually the name of the largest tower, nearly 23m high). The towers here are all built of bricks, artistically decorated with stone and ceramic materials, and the content is related to the worshiped gods. The most special thing is that the bricks are built tightly on top of each other without any type of adhesive. This is a mystery that until now researchers have not yet discovered how the Cham people managed to build it. so. Every year, on the Mother's Day (from 20 to 23 of the third lunar month), the Ponagar Tower Relic site welcomes tens of thousands of tourists on pilgrimage. Ponagar Thap Ba Festival is considered one of the largest festivals in the South Central and Central Highlands regions. The main rituals of the festival include the Muc Duc ceremony (statue bathing), the family mandarin sacrifice ceremony (clothing changing ceremony) taking place at Horse hour on March 20 (lunar calendar), followed by the sacrificial ceremony and offering offerings. , shadow dancing invites the Divine Mother and other gods to attend the ceremony. According to ritual, the ceremony to worship the Holy Mother usually begins with a prayer ceremony to pray for peace and prosperity for the country and people. The birth sacrifice ceremony begins at the hour of the Rat on the night of March 22 (lunar calendar) by the elderly, then the official worship ceremony takes place at 4 a.m. the next day. The ceremony was performed by the chief priest, the altar boy, the east-hien, the west-hien and the student team, who in turn offered wine, offered tea, and recited the orations very respectfully and respectfully. Finally, each group of people representing the palei, hamlets, and hamlets came to perform the ceremony... One of the most unique intangible cultural heritages in the Goddess festival at Ponagar Tower is the shadow dance praising merit. , expressing gratitude to "Mother Country". Cultural history researchers say that from the mid-17th century until now, the ceremony of worshiping the Motherland has been carefully organized by the Cham and Kinh people at Ponagar Tower. Around 1653, Vietnamese immigrants from the North, following Lord Nguyen to the South to open the world, stopped by the mouth of the Cai River (Nha Trang), establishing villages and hamlets... And they brought with them their customs. Mother Goddess worship of the Kinh people in the Northern Delta comes here. With the passage of time and the development trend of society, current festival rituals have had many changes; But no matter what, on the solemn day, Kinh people still excitedly organize hundreds of troupes of shadow dances, fruit offerings, fan dances and Cham people jubilantly beat the graminang and paranung drums, blow the saranai trumpet, and passionately play the kanhi. and singing folk songs... Even the shared meals of hundreds of people, happily talking and laughing, filled with the joy of peace and prosperity... Ponagar Tower Festival has been recognized by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism as a national intangible cultural heritage. To preserve, promote the value and widely introduce the unique cultural features of the Cham people to tourists, the Ponagar Tower Relics Management Board has organized a number of dancers, musicians, and artisans. of the Cham people come here every day to perform brocade weaving, Cham dances... Currently, every day Ponagar Tower attracts thousands of tourists to visit. Source: Vietnam National Tourism Administration

Khanh Hoa 3857 view

Rating : National monument Open door

Outstanding relic site